It’s Friday!!! And a delicious recipe for chicken barley soup…

Is anyone else excited that the weekend is upon us? I love weekends because I get to spend uninterrupted time with the ones I love! I am also excited that the temperatures will be going up from the deep freeze we are in (only for a short time but up is good) we will however have melting by Sunday and Monday which has me wishing I would have kept those ice skates from way back…kidding just kidding I think I’d break something if I tried that now! But it will most likely turn into a frozen mess.

I’m sure you are awaiting something crafty or delicious but the crafty room looks like a bomb exploded…I do not understand why I cannot be tidy when crafting. I think it is because I do not have my space very well organized. So that is what I am working on today before my meeting and trip to the Badger game. I CAN share delicious however, delicious in my fridge right now is the chicken sausage barley bean and veggie soup I made during the snowstorm! I love making soup and they are never recreated the same way twice but below I will tell you how I made it so you can try too:

Chicken barley

Dice half an onion, and slice four carrots, two or three ribs of celery, two small potatoes skin on, two baby Bella mushrooms.

Place in a large Dutch oven with olive oil and cook until onions are soft and translucent.

Next I added three Italian chicken sausages diced and three tablespoons flour and three tablespoons butter. I stirred this for a minute or two to cook the flour. I put in eight cups water four teaspoons vegetable broth powder and six chicken bouillon cubes. I also added one can of white kidney beans that were rinsed and drained. I also added a cup or two of frozen sweet corn. I added the seasonings next, mind you I don’t measure just sprinkle!

I added paprika,cumin,turmeric,sage,oregano,parsley,salt and pepper,garlic powder and I think that was it. I cooked this until the veggies were soft then added a generous cup of instant barley (because the box was almost empty who hates leaving a small bit of something taking up space?)

This lovely soup simmered until the barley cooked completely at which time I tasted it and it was too salty,uh oh. Instant mashed potato flakes to the rescue and we have been enjoying this soup since. I added about a cup or so of the flakes which also gave it a nice thickness but not too thick!

As you can see soup is so easy and a great way to use up anything in your pantry and fridge, it’s cost effective and delicious and most of all pretty healthy for you. I make a new soup every week and it’s lunch all week long… I hope you try the soup and be sure to “spin” it your way which means add what you want and what you have it will turn out delicious. You will wonder why you didn’t make soup sooner! Have a blessed day and be Kind.

Categories Uncategorized
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started